XMAS (W)RAP!

A big HAPPY HOLIDAYS (from me) to one and all in this the festive season. And special thanks to all of you who’ve visited, commented on or otherwise supported my blogging efforts to date. And here’s a little Xmas something for you all, a look at the Beast Wars series that never was, in the shape of my original script for ‘Shell Game’ issue #1. Created to tie in with the BW Summer Special story published by a certain ex-TF publisher, it differs significantly from what became (in the fullness of time) Beast Wars: The Gathering. Click on the link below to view. Enjoy… and I’ll be back on New Year’s Eve (or before) with my retrospective look at 07 (and maybe a look forward to 08!).
tfbw_1script.doc

21 Responses to XMAS (W)RAP!

  1. Coptur says:

    Merry Christmas Mr Furman, i hope you and your family have a good one.

    well i enjoyed script but i glad you went with what happened in the gathering.

    Will Waspinator ‘loose end’ be looked into? i think you’d like to play about with him before he gets to the Beast Machines time.

    Will we get to see how the Predacons survived the Mutants attack?

    hmmm can’t think anymore

    Look for to 2008

    -Andy

  2. Coptur says:

    Look ‘forward’ to 2008 oops

  3. Martin says:

    Hi Simon,

    I’m personally not into BW, but it’ll be great if you could one day post any scripts/ outlines of what would have happened in the unfinished issues for WW: Age of Wrath.

    All the best, Martin :)

  4. Fantastic stuff. Always loved Beast Wars and wanted a comic, so this is all good as far as I’m concerned.

    I’m sure I speak for all of us when in wishing you, and your family, a great Christmas and New Year.

  5. Cakir says:

    I really enjoy/enjoyed the Gathering and the Ascending but if there’s one thing I’m missing it’s the TVcast.

  6. Thunderwing says:

    Thanks for posting this! Very interesting read.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours.

  7. Best First says:

    Always hungry for more Rattrap.

    I was going to call this a great easter egg but that’s not really in keeping with the season is it?

    Merry Christmas one and all.

    Paul

  8. lightsyder says:

    very cool. Thanks for posting this unused bit of Transformers history.

    Is there any chance you could share some other goodies as well? I see War Within vol. 3 was already mentioned so I would like to add Primeval Dawn #4 and anything from the unpublished issues of Universe…

  9. Ross says:

    Merry Christmas to you too – thanks for all the great work this year, and I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve come up with for 2008!

  10. Emvee says:

    What a treat :)

    Merry Xmas Simon, and all the best for the new year!

  11. Raymond T. says:

    Looking forward to reading this. :)

    Merry Christmas and a TransTastic 2008!

    Best wishes to all,

    Raymond T. (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

  12. Joe says:

    Mr. Furman,

    I would like to add my name to the list of fans who would like a conclusion to The War Within 3.

    My birthday is coming up soon. ;)

  13. bassbot says:

    Merry Christmas!!!

    Luke

  14. Wonkimus Major says:

    Thanks for posting this.

  15. Black Bumblebee says:

    Thanks a bunch!

    Very interesting to see the original Beast Wars cast put into the story… that’s the main thing that the IDW BW stories lack… I mean, yeah, it’s nice to see all these unused characters… but I don’t have any attachment to them. Rhinox, Rattrap, and all those guys though… yeah… they’re my homies :-)

    Just a little “oops” to point out… for some reason the Word file seems to have, at one point, been saved as War Within #6 (shows up in the properties section)!

    Conspiracy theories are going to start going wild soon! (evil laugh).

  16. Dawfydd says:

    Thanks for that Simon! A fascinating look at what could have been…

  17. Frank Lopez says:

    Thanks for posting this Simon. I’ve visited your site for a while but this is my first time leaving a comment. I have a question for you. Is this considered a final completed script (one that is ready to be given to the artist, one would assume as much.) I ask because I want to study finished scripts of established pro’s so I can learn the ropes and hopefully break into the industry one day. Your work is among my favorites and it makes sense to study yours. Anywho….thanks for reading this and keep up the great work.

  18. Luis Moreno says:

    Thanks so much Mr. Furman… between this and the new Transformers Animated series… it’s an awesome time to be a Transformers fan !! ..what a way to end the year :)

    BEST WISHES FOR 2008 …hope it rolls out well ;)

    Luis Moreno
    New York, NY

    http://gettingintotransformers.blogspot.com/

    GETTING INTO TRANSFORMERS – THE BLOG

  19. Andrew says:

    Hi Mr. Furman, I’m a new guy on the whole Transformers concept and I just read this draft. It’s very intriguing, and there’s one thing i don’t get. when Rattrap pulls the lever they dropped out of the Transwarp funnel, did they literally drop out of funnel and get stranded on earth again? and was Waspinator supposed to fight Transquito as he eventually ends up in the Beast Machines?

    thanks for your time!

  20. So *that’s* how they do comic book scripts. I’ve always wondered at what point the images and words and ideas are integrated together and now I have an idea.

  21. Rudy says:

    Can any of you guys tell me who these characters are? It’s driving me nuts http://cyberstore.decepticon-matrix.com/beastwars_summer2004ad.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

