HEAD’S UP (IN OCTOBER)!

As reported previously, the second (trade paperback) volume of Death’s Head is out from Panini in October. Editor Brady Webb was kind enough to confirm the contents, which are: Death’s Head #8-10, the entirety of The Body in Question, (8-page story from) Marvel Comics Presents #76, She-Hulk #24, Fanatastic Four #338 and What If? #54. And, for the sake of completeness, the second one-page story featuring DH (that ran as an advertisment in other Marvel UK titles) is collected as well (making it a truly bumper volume). There’ll be a new intro from me and no doubt other cool stuff too. Volume 1 is out now!

15 Responses to HEAD’S UP (IN OCTOBER)!

  1. Dave Frear says:

    Excellent news. Did the one-pager ever have a title at all?

  2. carnivac says:

    Very cool. Will buy it for sure. I seem to vaguely remember that What If issue being a lot of fun and fairly grim.

    I haven’t been able to find the first TPB so I don’t know but is the Doctor Who story that explains how DH gets shrunk in it?

  3. Jon S says:

    October’s too far away!! Maybe you can persuade Marvel to re-introduce Death’s Head (the original DH of course) into the follow-up series to Annihilation?? Death’s Head is a sci-fi guy and would fit in well in that sort of story enviornment (space battles, mayhem etc). I believe Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning are going to be plotting that one, so maybe we can bribe him to get DH in there?

  4. simon furman says:

    The one-pager in question didn’t have a title as such, but it involved a contract on a bunch of Munchkyns! Honest.

  5. simon furman says:

    The first collection does have the Doctor Who story in it, the one that explains how DH got shrunk from TF-size. Amazon should have it. Or any Forbidden Planet (or FP mail order).

  6. partholon says:

    nice one. ive got most of it but besides the “what if” story i never seen any of the other US stuff so will have to chedk it out. incidently how well did that “what if” sell? there was some gorgeous geoff senior art in that and he seemed to moderate his style a little. ditto with the “what if iron man sold out” issue which i loved. its criminal the guys not getting work in the field but i suppose the advetising game is just too seductive. still i can look forward to TFUK🙂

  7. heyyyyyy nice one, good to see the big guy back in circulation, loved the story and artwork in the what if issue, (think that rendition of old d/h was a lot like the old green suited one from the transformers days!) did you read my comments on your about you page?? think he used a fake body in another adventure too!! hi noon tex.
    keep up the good work and looking forward to more of the engine!!!! ill raise a glass of the cold stuff to that!! ):(]

  8. simon furman says:

    Oops, sorry, didn’t see your post on the ‘about you’ page. Don’t think I realised people could even post there. Oh well. Thanks for the feedback, Craig.

  9. Brady Webb says:

    Hi all,
    Just thought I’d pop by and give you the ISBN to help you track Death’s Head Vol.1 down.
    ISBN 1-905239-34-3 ISBN 13:978-1-905239-34-4 There, that should help.🙂
    As Simon has already said, the second volume will collect everything else, including the FF strip with a synopsis of what happened previously. It’s gonna have a fantastic new cover by Lee Sullivan and Geoff has agreed to do a spot illustration too (I pinned him down at the Bristol Comic Expo).
    All the best,
    B:)

  10. carnivac says:

    Thanks Simon and Brady. I may be heading into town sometime next week so will be checking my local Forbidden Planet and Borders and if I can afford Volume 1 I’ll buy it for sure.

  11. Brady!

    I also have a terrific pen illustration of DEATH’S HEAD with Dragon’s Claws by Alan Davis, which he gave me when I lefrt Marvel UK in . Do you want me to scan it and send it over to you? I’m sure Alan would grant permission for it’s use.

    Rich!

  12. simon furman says:

    Maybe get it coloured up? Now THAT would be terrific.

  13. Doeld says:

    I smell a storm of interest brewing in these classic characters of yours Simon!

    Let the incoming Rennaisance of Dragon’s Claws and Death’s Head gather steam…and hopefully begin again!!

  14. What have I let myself in for?!

    I’ll ask Steve White if he’s up for it — assuming Brady’s got room for it!

    R!

  15. Simon Hall says:

    I agree with Jon S!October IS too far away…but at least I will get a new copy of The Body In Question!Hooray!Its my absolute favourite DH story and Geoff Senior’s painted work is just phenomenal.Do you know if Will Simpson’s pin-ups will appear?I liked the cover he did for TBIQ and a cover for Strip with DH brandishing his titanium shott blaster.I know this may be a sore subject, but what happened in 1992 when we got DHII? I really liked the concept of the character, but Dan Abnett seemed to loose his way when we got a DHII ongoing series.I’d be really intrigued to find out as I still feel that Marvel UK fumbled the ball with the character.It just seemed odd not to approach you to get involved with Marvel UKs big push into the US comics market, particularly as you’d had a hand in creating their leading light.

Leave a Reply

