SCRIPT (W)RAP

As promised, here’s the second of this week’s script (w)raps, my rambling disgressions on Transformers Devastation #3. As always, these are teasers rather than spoilers, but boy does it get tougher as a series progresses not to give away crucial plot details. I need to remember that as of yet no one’s even seen #1, and dole out my revelations (hm. Isn’t that the next series?) sparingly. So, what’s going on? Well, this is more a fallout kind of issue, as the tumultuous events of the previous two issues settle into a kind of shellshocked aftermath. Not that the issue is short on action and surprises, quite the opposite. Sixshot does his, er, worst to tie up a loose end in the shape of Ratchet (and Verity and Jimmy), within the Machination’s Florida hub, Hunter is faced with a shocking request (courtesy of Sunstreaker) and Hot Rod and Wheeljack face a twin dilemma, the Headmasters and… well, wait and see. It’s what you might call a ‘crushing’ deadline. Once more ‘doc’ Ratchet finds himself at the sharp end of things, but this time it’s a planet-smashing living weapon he’s facing. No contest, I’m afraid. Oh, and a few more sub-plots bubble along: General Deacon and Senator Holt (from Escalation #2) make a reappearance, the Reapers step up into the limelight and the forces of the Dead Universe make their own moves. All this in 22-pages? What I call a value-for-money issue. It’s out in November! Don’t miss it.

11 Responses to SCRIPT (W)RAP

  1. Martin says:

    Hi Simon, I just found this blog, I didn’t know you had it! I’ll be checking in on a regular basis now.

    I saw you at the Orbital signing a couple of weeks, and I didn’t thank you properly for signing my books, I was busy asking (more like begging) Chris Ryall at the time if I could pitch for Transformers. So consider this a big thank you for signing my books🙂

    When you gonna be around in London for another signing? Got some more for you to write on.

    Martin

  2. simon furman says:

    Martin, welcome aboard! You got no less than 48 blog entries to catch up on. Have fun!

    No idea when the next London signing will be, though a posisble FP London signing in early August has been mooted. More, if and when, this becomes any more definite.

  3. Martin says:

    Hmmm, 48 blogs, that should keep me going for a little bit!

    That’ll be good if a FP signing comes off. Just don’t shedule it for the 1st weekend of August or I can’t go! Well, hopefully I can get the attention of the guys at IDW with some Transformers stuff, so it’ll be good to possibly work with you. But we’ll see.

    Just gotta ask, how quickly can you do a 22 page script? Do you bother outlining before hand or do you just jump into it?

  4. Jon S says:

    Wow, another signing would be great. I’m looking forward to the Titan TF mag coming out in July, so it would be cool to get that signed. When does the “Best of Simon Furman” collection come out too?

  5. bassbot says:

    SIMON! Truly, how can you combine all that into one script!!! It sounds like a whole miniseries in one issue! heh, cannot wait til this starts… still months away!
    thanks for the teasers. really loving the human and autobot interaction! and some more Sixshot will be cool!

  6. Steven Ginty says:

    I hope this series never ends. If it does I will only have Elephantmen to look forward to.

    I’m glad the first two installments of the run come in paperback, or I’d have missed out.

  7. `Straya says:

    Ratchet…against -Sixshot-? Oh dear… Need I brace myself mentally for the worst possible outcome?

  8. simon furman says:

    Hey, Martin. In actual scripting terms, I reckon on 3-4 days for a 22-page script. But on top of that there’s the outline/plot stage, which maybe adds another day per (less if I’m doing, say, a six-issue arc outline all in one go).

  9. simon furman says:

    Don’t know about the ‘Best of Me’ collection. It was scheduled then it wasn’t. May be taking some getting together time.

  10. bassbot says:

    NOOOooooooooooooooo!

Leave a Reply

