SUB-CULTURE

As promised, a round-up/digression on last weekend’s Sub-Con in Dublin. This was something like convention #5 for me this year (not counting signings), so I approached Sub-Con with a certain amount of weary ‘been there, done that.’ But, actually, it turned out to be a surprisingly refreshing and (with a tacked on holiday touring the west coast of Ireland) revitalising experience. There’s just something about Ireland that very quickly winds me down, cushions the largely frantic beat of freelance life, and given that Sub-Con wasn’t on any kind of large scale, there wasn’t so much pressure involved with the convention day itself. But I’m getting ahead of myself. We (myself and my wife, Anna) were met at Dublin airport by convention organizer (and owner of Dublin’s Sub-City comic store) Rob Curley and ferried to the Central Hotel (where we were to stay and where the convention itself was to be held). It was also home to one of the nicest and most laid back hotel bars (big, comfortable chairs and walls bedecked with books) I’ve ever had the pleasure to behold. Unsurprisingly, much of Friday evening was spent there, supping Guinness and conversing with the likes of Rob, Steve Niles, Sarah Wilkinson, Leah Moore, Bryan Talbot and John Reppion. Good crack, as they say. Anyhow, on the Saturday I was set up and ready to go at 9.30AM as the doors opened, with scripts and other stuff out for inspection (and signature/purchase). Punters started to drift in, then more and more, until by lunchtime the main area was heaving. At 1PM I adjourned to the panel room and regaled the audience with upcoming stuff about (largely) Transformers. I managed not to reveal the subject of the second (or three) Spotlights I’m currently writing for IDW, but did let slip that (within the covers of that same un-named Spotlight) a certain Fortress Maximus makes his full IDW debut (albeit in a supporting role). That done, it was back to my own little corner of the convention hall for more in the way of one on one meeting and greeting. The afternoon then gently wound down until 5PM, when I packed up and was gone. A nod of the head to fellow creators Declan Shalvey and Will Sliney, who had the table next to mine. They both made for excellent company as the attendees ebbed and flowed. Overall, a very nice experience, busy enough to feel it was worth your while being there, but not so mad you feel mauled by the end of the day. After food, it was back to the ‘library’ bar at the Central Hotel for more lively chat (and, yes, Guinness), the proceedings enlivened still further by the arrival of Nick Roche (and pretty much his entire family). The next morning, it was into a hire car and off into the wild blue yonder. All in all, a very fine diversion. Cheers, Rob. Now back to work…
dscf0429jpg.jpg
Me, in my corner, signing scripts.

dscf0433jpg.jpg
Me, on my panel, laughing at my own joke. Thankfully…

dscf0432jpg.jpg
… the audience did join in!

12 Responses to SUB-CULTURE

  1. Ralph Burns says:

    Nice to see it went well for you. Hopefully we will see you in Scotland at some point.

  2. Rose says:

    No mention of my Death’s Head fig😦 Hope it’s okay I tried hard but it did come out a bit of a mess… I sent you an email re: keeping it non scratchy but I guess you’re pretty busy at the mo.

  3. Paul says:

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Ireland Simon, thx for answering a lot of questions and signing all those books I bought with me. Was well worth my mate dragging me all the way over from England for it

  4. simon furman says:

    Re: Death’s Head figure. Thanks for that. It was gratefully received. Very nice job indeed.

  5. simon furman says:

    And my thanks to all the people who turned out to Sub Con (especially those who travelled from the UK for the event!). Really good to see/meet you all.

  6. Rose says:

    Glad to see you like it ^_^ Was a bit worried you’d take a closer look when you get home and be disappointed. You did seem pretty excited about it though, that made me feel all fuzzy inside, well worth the effort.

    BTW I didn’t get time to Seal the figure; see if you can go into a Games Workshop or somewhere and buy some sealant; it’ll stop paint from scratching or anything like that. Not 100% necessary if it’s on a shelf, but shood any accidents occur. It’d probably also help keep the paint on some older figures, too.

    Sorry for sort of ranting on a bit about a variety of random topics the second time I came to see you; I have aspergers and when I don’t keep it in check that happens. Just keep that in mind if I see you at another con!

    If you check your Wildfur address I sent you that Grimlock pic I was talking about as well as a URL to a TF webcomic I’m working on(different one to the one I told you about at the moment). Way too long to reply to(sorry again for that), but skip to the interesting parts(the URLs, in shiny blue!) at least if you have time.

  7. stj21 says:

    hey simon it is great you are going to use fortress maximus. i was wondering is he going to be the size of omega or smaller closer to ultra mangues and is cerbros going to be a seperate charter thanks steve

  8. Hi Simon, it was great to meet you at Sub-Con. Hope my constant stream of wise-cracks didn’t annoy you. Also hope you enjoyed the West of Ireland; that’s where i hail from and always tell people THAT’S where people should visit, rather than Dublin.

    Take Care,
    All the best,
    Dec.

  9. simon furman says:

    Sorry to disappoint those who expect Fort Max to be city-sized, but he’ll be regular TF size (albeit of the larger Prime, Ultra Magnus category).

  10. simon furman says:

    Hey Declan, it was a pleasure meeting you, both at the Con and in the bar afterwards. If you’re ever in London, give me a shout.

  11. Declan says:

    Will do! God knows when that’ll be, but next time i’m around those parts, i’ll let you know.

    Dec.

  12. partholon says:

    great to see you enjoyed yourself! we dont really get much comic convention stuff going on as its only really kicked in in the last few years here thanks to the dilligence of the respective shops involved so its a blast to see pros coming here to see the fans

    i didnt get to go myself as i was stuck working but i hope to next time.

    as to the west if you ever get REALLY stressed out try the aran islands some time. it’ll freak you out to hear the loudest noise is the waves lapping against the shore as there’s practically no traffic. was there with the lads in april and for a weekend cant recomend it enough (particularly the food!) . if you get the right weather its fantastic

Leave a Reply

