DOUBLE TROUBLE

Out this week, from IDW Publishing, is Transformers Spotlight: Doubledealer, part three of the epic ‘Revelation’ arc. Things really kick into high gear this issue, as the Dead Universe cast (Nemesis Prime, Cyclonus, Galvatron, Straxus, Grindcore and Jhiaxus) make their presence well and truly felt. As two universes begin to mesh, perhaps irrevocably, the Autobots struggle to understand exactly what has been set in motion (and how to stop it). They need answers, and what better place to get them than from “the font of all knowledge, known and unknown” (aka The Magnificence). Last seen in Spotlight: Hot Rod, this mysterious alien artefact has been carefully hidden away ever since, but nowโ€”with the end of everything loomingโ€”it may be the universe’s last best hope. It’s up to Hot Rod and Dealer to retrieve the Magnificence, but (unknown to Hot Rod) Dealer has only his own interests at heart. Dealer’s dalliances with Banzaitron’s Decepticon secret service earned him the sobriquet Doubledealer, and he’s about to make it his own by ensuring that the job he started in Spotlight: Hot Rod is comprehensively finished this time around. Deceptions, doublecrosses and deceit abound as events steam headlong towards their shocking conclusion. Plus, more on the Autobot ‘Pretenders,’ Optimus Prime vs Nemesis Prime (at last!) and a shocking reappearance by… well, wait and see. Transformers Spotlight: Doubledealer hits stores this Wednesday (20th) in the US, Thursday (21st) in the UK. Interior art is by Dan Khanna, with covers by EJ Su and Nick Roche. Click on the thumbnail below for a look at EJ’s (interlocking) cover.

18 Responses to DOUBLE TROUBLE

  1. bassbot says:

    AND covers by awesome good guy Limabean! Can’t wait to get this on thursday Simon. Didn’t expect the showdown of OP vs NP in this issue, so cool to get it now – great EJ cover too. ah, so much tf goodness this month.

  2. Chris N says:

    Oooh… a shocking reappearance. I wonder if it’s in any way connected to a certain character mentioned in the Script (W)Rap for Spotlight Sideswipe.๐Ÿ˜‰

    Looking forward. Need nowwwwwwwwwww.

  3. BB Shockwave says:

    Awesome… can’t wait!๐Ÿ™‚

    It feels like the end days of Marvel US again, with all these events happening at the same time, characters coming and going, plotlines solved and new ones emerging…

    I just hope there’ll be a continuation to the whole storyline you have started in Infiltration, even after Maximum: Dinobots! Frankly, your IDW storyline has achieved the unthinkable – I’m starting to like it more then your Marvel UK/US storyline…๐Ÿ™‚

  4. glazios says:

    If the last two were anything to go by, this will, in no uncertain terms, ROCK. Thoroughly looking forward to getting my hands on this one. Surprised to learn of OP vs NP; was expecting that small war to feature in Spotlight Sideswipe, but many thanks for small blessings and such.
    … Maximium Dinobots… When does that start, by the way Simon, as no-one in any of the major TF communities seems to definatively know…

  5. partholon says:

    oooh goody. been looking forward to this one. the series has been flowing surprisingly well considering its only a four parter and its got to the stage where im REALLY hoping a few of the badies survive or at leat have the possibility of turning up down the road. we never even got to know these new straxus and grindcore yet !๐Ÿ™‚

    im glad the op nova fight is in this as that probably means the you know what is going to hit the fan in sideswipes spotlight. heres hoping the dead universe has one more trick up its sleave๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

  6. bassbot says:

    I meant COLOURS by Liam Shalloo (aka Limabean)
    sorry mate

  7. Black Bumblebee says:

    Hmm… could I hope that the “shocking return” is of Nightbeat?๐Ÿ™‚

    Ah well, a bot can try…

  8. Chris N says:

    glazios – Denton Tipton said on the IDW forum (in the thread about the November solicits) that Maximum Dinobots is due to start in December.

  9. Axman says:

    I can’t believe in just a few hours, the wait for the 3rd chapter in this incredible and action packed story arc will be in my hands. I can’t help but wonder what the shocking return is all about… no clue who it could be. Maybe Arcee and Banzaitron run into …. Monstructor?

  10. M-Priest says:

    Another winner, Simon. Just read it.

    I don’t know how you are going to have so many fights in the next issue though!

  11. Not a bad read.

    Though Simon, I would be VERY interested in seeing what you initially had planned for Revelations and beyond – this seems pretty rushed to me.

    1 and 2 had a great pace, but 3 seemed VERY rushed. And I’m concerned 4 will be way too rushed as well.

  12. FormerGigolo says:

    I dissed devastation when it first came out, what a mistake.

    Read devastation again in conjunction with revelation, and it all now makes sense.

    I feel that the story in devastation has been hindered by the move to it being a 4 part series. Too much happens to quickly, and it feels as if great chunks of the story have been left out to squeeze the series into 4 issues.

    Despite the points I raised above, props and respect to Mr Furman for keeping his title as the best transformer writer ever.

  13. Coptur says:

    Well i’ve actually enjoyed the quick pace of the story, i did think that (Double)Dealer would reveal his Decepticon mode and get away but to my surprise he didn’t, instead he became a burning wreck of a million bits lol.

    Not too keen on the character Sideswipe but i’m still looking forward to the issue..

    Thank you again Mr F for a great read.

    Still yet to read Spotlight Wheelie for a bit of Reflector action

  14. matthessey says:

    Absolutely loving Reveations at the moment Simon, great job.๐Ÿ™‚
    I was just wondering though if once Revelation and Max Dinos is all wrapped up if you’ll ever reveal what you had originally planned for Revelations and Expansion?

  15. simon furman says:

    Hi everyone, apologies for the absence from these threads, but I’ve been inundated with work.

    Okay, now I know for a fact not everyone’s going to be happy with the way Revelation plays out. I honestly feel I’ve done the best I can, but there was a whole LOT to wrap up in four issues. Maximum Dinobots does pick up some of the slack, but squeezing the entirety of the Dead Universe storyline plus Spotlight stuff into four issues has been tough. So please be kind.

    Down the line sometime I may be inclined to map out what got squeezed out and what would have had further repercussions, including some of the stuff that was meant to roll out into Expansion, but not for the moment. I’d rather keep those cards to myself, in case I get the chance to play them sometime in the future. For example, I pitched an idea to Denton that he really dug, which kind of rolls out of both Revelation and Maximum Dinobots, and if get to do that some of the stuff I had in mind may get to see the light of day, albeit in a somewhat altered form.

  16. f_prime says:

    Hi Simon
    Been a fan of yours since I was a kid, in the good old days of Marvel UK. I just want to say I think you’re doing a brilliant with the constraints you’re under, really loving all of Revelations so far.

    I also hope you get to do the idea you pitched, because frankly IDW’s new direction just isn’t satisfying me. Really looking forward to the conclusion of Revelations it will definately deliver art wise EJ Su’s never lets us down.

  17. FFN says:

    Hi Simon,
    I’m a much more recent fan to TF comics than the average Transformers fan, and I’d like to say I really enjoy your work, and I was very sorry to see that you had to squeeze your stories into Revelations to make way for All Hail Megatron (the latter is not my cup of tea).

    I hope that one day your original plans for your storyline will see the light of day, and good luck on The Thirteen!

  18. Michael says:

    It bugs me that I have to go straight from “Devastation” to “Revelation” and I missed all 5 of the last regular Spotlights (Blaster, Arcee, Mirage Grimlock & Wheelie) b/c my comic book guy wouldn’t hold them for me when I was out of town. Now I have to wait for the compilation through Amazon, & by then the last Revelation will have come out & spoiled the story for me! Enough complaining, I do have to comment on the brilliance of this storyline. Hot Rod commented that “nothing is that easy,” but in the Transformers universe, it historically is. I love how a complex plot ultimately came about to such a simple solution. That’s classic TF style, if you ask me (like the old movie, when they were so worried a/b Unicron. All he had to do was open the Matrix!) That brings me to a question: Nem. Prime mentioned the Matrix- I honestly had assumed the Matrix was not a part of this continuity (or, if so, something drastically different). Why, in that case, was Megatron not after it (or didn’t contact it) when he crushed Prime in “Escalation?” … Or is that to be revealed in the storyline to come? Anyway, keep up the great work! TFs Forever!

Leave a Reply

