NEXT UP — TRANSFORMERS: NEFARIOUS

LIVE FROM SAN DIEGO: the news is out, my next series for IDW will be Transformers: Nefarious, a six-issue movie continuity mini-series that picks up from the end of Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen and introduces an all-new adversary for the Transformers (Autobot and Decepticon) in the shape of a mysterious, far-reaching and very powerful group of humans with access to enhanced Transformer-tech and maybe even the odd actual Transformer! Seeds for the new series will be sown in the final Tales of the Fallen issue, Ravage, and he (along with Soundwave) play key roles in the unfolding drama. Expect lots more character depth and exploration for both. Actually, make that all characters. We’re going to be highlighting some Autobots and Decepticons that did and didn’t make it into the second movie and maybe, just maybe, throwing in the odd new character too! Plus, we’ll be exploring the post-movie NEST/Autobot human alliance in more detail too! For more info check out the IGN interview I did recently (see link in update below). Transformers: Nefarious kicks in shortly after Tales of the Fallen #6: Ravage. Don’t miss either!
Transformers_Nefarious_cover_art

19 Responses to NEXT UP — TRANSFORMERS: NEFARIOUS

  1. FFN says:

    Hi Simon, when exactly does the Nefarious series take place? Since Ravage, well…

  2. simon furman says:

    Yeah, that actually caught us on the hop, as Ravage kind of getting his spine pulled out must have been a late addition to things. Anyhow, Tales of the Fallen: Ravage checks in on the four-legged one post-spine pullage and gets him up and at ’em again. Just seen Alex Milne’s layouts for the issue… sweeeeeet!

  3. Graham says:

    Simon, regarding highlighting certain Autobot characters that got minimal screentime in the movie… Jolt! Arcee! Sideswipe! Ironhide! Ratchet!

    But mostly Jolt.🙂 I just want to see all of the Autobots together, working as a team.

  4. What are the odds of seeing the movieverse Bludgeon in all this?

    After all, not only is he one of your favorites, but he’s got TWO toys in the movie line. (Mind you, one was repurposed as a redecoed Wreckage, but still)

  5. Junior says:

    Hey Simon, i’ve been wondering will Shockwave be making an appearence?

  6. Bass X0 says:

    Shockwave isn’t really a movie character is he? Sure he appeared in the game but I personally don’t count that as an inclusion in the movie-verse.

  7. LukeF says:

    I am in love with the movie continuity! I have the Movie Prequel, Movie Adaptation, Reign of Starscream, Alliance, Defiance, Revenge Adaptation. This news made me mad! Thank you!

    What exactly happens in Tales of the Fallen as I haven’t heard of this?

  8. James says:

    Hey Simon,

    Is the ‘Art of the Movies’ book still coming out?

    Take care!
    James

  9. Hasief says:

    Dear Simon, do you have any non-movieverse TF work coming up? I hope so, because you’re the main reason (and a lot of readers, I’m sure) I’ve stuck around for the ride, with all due respect to the other writers they’ve got on board now.

  10. SageShini says:

    Yeah, same question as Hasief, Simon. I have to confess I have zero interest in the movie-verse, and the primary reason I was so excited about the G1-verse was that you were heavily involved. Are you going to be involved in that at all going forward?

  11. Fall of Polyhex says:

    Love ya, Simon, but shame on you for involving yourself with that idiot Michael Bay’s butchering of the Transformers. We wait twenty-plus years for a live-action Transformers movie, and what do we get? This goofy piece of crap? Not even the real Transformers, just a small handful of things that look like they went through a shredder? God help us. This garbage is an insult to the name Transformers, from some second-rate filmmaker who obviously knows little and cares less about the Transformers.

  12. Philip Boyce says:

    I absolutely adore the movies, and am a huge Transformers G1 fan having just recently spent a small fortune plugging the gaping holes in my original Marvel UK comics collection. Watching the documentaries for the first movie it’s obvious Bay is now a huge fan too and has a lot of respect for what has come before, and I can’t wait for this latest addition to the movieverse😀😀😀

  13. Wonderful news, Simon! I just finished Defiance and Alliance, so I will be very much looking forward to this new addition to the movieverse.

    I’ll be curious to see the explanation for Ravage too, but glad he’s going to survive. I hope Bay & Co. accepts this, and has him back in TF3 as well.

  14. Seiko says:

    I absolutely adore the movies, and am a huge Transformers G1 fan having just recently spent a small fortune plugging the gaping holes in my original Marvel UK comics collection. Watching the documentaries for the first movie it's obvious Bay is now a huge fan too and has a lot of respect for what has come before, and I can't wait for this latest addition to the movieverse😀😀😀; I absolutely adore the movies, and am a huge Transformers G1 fan having just recently spent a small fortune plugging the gaping holes in my original Marvel UK comics collection. Watching the documentaries for the first movie it's obvious Bay is now a huge fan too and has a lot of respect for what has come before, and I can't wait for this latest addition to the movieverse😀😀😀;;

  15. Scorpio says:

    In my opinion Ravage was good but didnt really do much in the films. I would much rather see Scorponok appear in TF3 rather than Ravage as then Scorponok would have appeared in all 3 films🙂

  16. Chris says:

    I absolutely love both of the transformers movies, and have read all of the comics to add depth to the movie universe. I cant wait for the nefarious series as I love the story up to now. As someone previously commented I would also love to see some stories about jolt as most people I’ve talked to didn’t notice he was in the film as he was only in a few shots, however I hope when the dvd hits the shops, their will be some extra scenes with him in. I was just wondering if you could give any hints to where the story will take us in the future, and if there could be more focus on jolt, possibly arcee-showing how she made it to earth.

  17. carn says:

    Love both movies almost as much as the original Marvel UK stories and nothing else since has come anywhere close. Especially love the vast majority of the designs most of which I far, far prefer to any other incarnation of the characters, especially Prime and Bumblebee. Anyways I second the comment about Bludgeon. Got me the excellent voyager class figure a couple weeks ago and would love to see him in the comics.

  18. carn says:

    Oh yeah loving the Tales of the Fallen and looking forward to Nefarious. These are the only comics I buy these days.

  19. fallen one says:

    I wish they would make mini-cons in anything like movies,comics and video games.

Leave a Reply

