SCRIPT (W)RAP – REGENERATION ONE #83

This Wednesday, September 5th, sees the release of Transformers: Regeneration One #83, and as is customary, I’m preceding that release with another of my script (w)raps, a kind of behind-the-scenes peek at some of the thought processes that went into the creation of the issue. My aim is to tease rather than spoil, but if you’re one of those admirable people who prefer to greet their comic minty fresh, cease reading now. You have been warned. So, third (full) issue, and it was time to give readers chapter and verse (well, mostly) on the current state of play on Earth, and what led up to it (and how things got quite so bad). Thus far, answers have been in short supply, but — before things get going full throttle in the all-out action department(s) — I wanted to take this brief gathering of forces, drawing of breath  time to fill in some blanks. The catalyst/propellant for this embittered and finger-pointing trip down the memory lane that is the past 21 years (of comic time) is Circuit Smasher, aka Spike Witwicky. Naturally, you’re wondering how the former brother of Buster and ex-head of Fortress Maximus came to be wrapped in tech that has a distinct lineage to a certain Circuit Breaker, and this issue has the answers you seek. Is that it? A bunch of recap stuff to fill a yawning continuity chasm? Not at all. There’s more, much more. Though we’re going to leave Grimlock’s story for the time being (that’s really the spine of the second arc, so I didn’t want to cram too much of it in here), Optimus Prime gets a rude wake-up call, we learn the fate of Kup (eek… nasty), the Wreckers get proactive, Dirtbag gets a cameo (it’s kind of my mission to get all the characters with the worst names into RG1!) and the machinations of Bludgeon and Soundwave start to come to the fore — leading to a pulse-quickening, trouser-shattering cliffhanger on page 22. There’s some nice easter egg-style references for you to pick up, one distinctly UK story-based,  another that’s a kind of an inter-company nod of the head, and some simply gorgeous Wildman/Baskerville/Bove art to enjoy. There’s a preview here, and the issue itself is in all good comic stores (or available online to download) tomorrow. Enjoy!

36 Responses to SCRIPT (W)RAP – REGENERATION ONE #83

  1. Ian Hewett says:

    “Former brother of Buster”?!
    Yikes.

  2. Dave Grew says:

    Where is Shockwave??????????

  3. mikeladano says:

    The wait is killing me🙂

  4. Michael says:

    I know the G2 continuity was scrapped, but I’m wondering if what happened to Fort Max (as described in this issue) was your way of recycling that plot thread and working it into ReGeneration one. If I were a writer (and I am), I’d do that!

    Also wondered if we’re going to see Galvatron anytime soon.

  5. simon furman says:

    Double ditto. Patience! Though, actually, yes… soon!

  6. Sean says:

    Good issue Simon. I’m glad the pace has been picked up a bit, I was worried there for a little while. Back in the day everything that happened in these 3 issues could have made up one comic. Still stuff is actually happening now, and it looks like it’s gonna be well worth it.

    Must have Shockwave!!!

  7. Vince Glorioso says:

    Regeneration one you has become a highlight of each and every month. Just like the original series was back in the day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Keep up the good work. I can’t wait to see where the story goes next.

  8. Mansoor Ali Choudhury says:

    Ditto.

  9. Ian Hewett says:

    Wonderful issue! Nice to see a little nod to Robot Buster in there.
    I see Weirdwolf and Skullcruncher are still knocking around; does that mean Monzo and Grax are too?
    Incidentally, I applaud the decision to feature characters with the worst names, but I’m begging you, please don’t include Erector. That just seems… wrong.
    Also, your ‘former brother’ comment seems to indicate that Buster’s no longer around. If so, are we going to be denied the chance to see if he ever stopped wearing pink t shirts?
    Speaking of humans, will we be seeing any more supporting cast from the past? It’d be interesting to see the annoying kids from the Cosmic Carnival as adult survivors, for example.
    Thanks for another excellent issue, and, as ever, I can’t wait to see how the events unfold.

  10. mikeladano says:

    Loved this issue. I think this one might be my favourite so far.

  11. Megatron’s “I rather think you left this behind.” – deliberate shout-out to Galvatron’s similar line regarding Jazz in Target: 2006? 😀

  12. Kent says:

    This issue rocked! Keep it coming! If you could do some Mega-Ratchet stuff with them feeling the after effects of their bonding/seperation that would be super sweet. I’m thinking that’s how Megs got control of the Ark?

    Really wanna see Galvatron and Meg’s team up like what was hinted in #78 with Ratchet being Meg’s achilles heel if not completely subdued (like on Meg’s battle hoverboard thing)

  13. simon furman says:

    Aha! Right. That MARB. No. But I like the Ratchet link.

  14. Darren says:

    Another great issue. The story is getting better and better. Leadfoot saying Megatron couldn’t possibly do this on his own. I have a feeling that Shockwave is actually behind all of this.

    Was that Prowl in the background getting on board the Autobot shuttle? I hope so.

    Great to see GB Blackrock again and Hot Rod worrying about how me might not see Prime again. Surely he can’t die yet. Hopefully his visions of Unicron will be explained!

  15. I would like to say you succeeded with your mission of using the characters with the worst names with this issue . First with Dirtbag ,and second with “CIRCUIT SMASHER ” ,and Dirtbag is really not even that bad of a name .No matter what I do I really don’t like the name ,I am so sorry .There is really no point to his moniker ,except to “SHOCK ” fans .It is not like the Autobots or Decepticons really care ,again just an opinion .
    Now I do have to say I love the back story to how “SPIKE ” (I will not say it ) got his powers .It made a lot of sense .I really don’t have any more questions ,as I see where the book is going .
    Well I do have one ,if I remember right ,does not Marvel also own GB Blackrock ??
    Oh and I have always thought GoBots from G2 has a really bad name ,just bringing him up ,just in case .

    • Ian Hewett says:

      Hasbro own Blackrock as he first appeared (and has remained in) Transformers comics, whereas Circuit Breaker/Josie Beller first appeared in Secret Wars II, so Marvel own her. I wonder if we’ll find out what ‘GB’ stands for…

      • Good point Ian ,but explain this .In the last couple of issues in the US comic ,in the copyright section it says
        ” CIRCUIT BREAKER, G.B.BLACKROCK, THUNDERPUNCH, RAPTURE, DYNAMO,THE NEO-KNIGHTS,and the distinctive likenesses therof are trademarks of Marvel Entertainment Group .
        So now I am asking both you and Simon this –
        Did Hasbro ,IDW ,whoever buy back the rights to G.B.Blackrock ?
        Who owns the rest of The Neo-Knights?
        and now one for you Ian ,let say your logic is right about the first appearance of a character ,then I guess Hasbro must own Death’s Head ……what !!! they don’t .then I guess your logic is Wrong!!!
        I hope Simon will clear this up a bit ,and maybe explain how the rights of G.B.Blackrock went back to Marvel .That is all I really wanted explained .

      • Sorry typo mistake ,in the comment I made earlier ,I accidentally typed Marvel instead of Hasbro ,so keep this in mind when reading my final question in my replay -“I hope Simon will clear this up a bit ,and maybe explain how the rights of G.B.Blackrock went back to HASBRO .That is all I really wanted explained . I wish I could change the post ,but it won’t let me .

      • Ian Hewett says:

        Death’s Head first appeared in a strip called “High Noon Tex” prior to “Wanted: Galvatron, Dead or Alive”, so Marvel retain the rights. Simon would probably be better placed to answer the question about Blackrock (good point about the copyright message; perhaps Marvel were being a tad over zealous at the time?!).

      • Thanks for the info on Death’s Head first appearance ,I did not know about it .:)

      • to michaelalexkawa,

        The conventional wisdom is that Hasbro ALWAYS owned the G.B. Blackrock trademark, and that the copyright section you cite was overzealous in Blackrock’s inclusion while trying to capture all those other characters. I don’t believe any buying occured, but simply that Blackrock shouldn’t have been in that list in the first place.

    • Michael says:

      Actually, Circuit Smasher has kind of a WWF — er, WWE look to him. I could see him wrestling some Decepticon micromasters, like in some of those early G1 issues. Actually, please don’t do that.

    • Thanks for the explanation Mark🙂

  16. Paul says:

    Hi Simon,
    I wrote a paper for one of my college couses back in 2005 and I “borrowed” a line or two right out of some of your Transformers comics (I did cite you) I was wondering if I could send it to you. Thanks to you I got an A!
    I love what you are doing with regeneration one. It’s one of the highlights of my month. I even got my 25 year old nephew to read all of the original marvel run and he said it was 100 times better than the TV series. I’m hoping that you’ll just keep this as an ongoing series!

  17. Loved the issue, although it does seem to leave a few questions dangling. How did Megatron get the knowledge to override human security systems, take full control of the Ark, turn the scraplet virus into a weapon etc? That doesn’t sound like old smash-it-and-see Buckethead. That level of skill sounds far more… surgical. (Hint hint.) Can’t wait to see if that theory proves correct.

    One thing I’m not clear on, though, is whether the Autobots knew the location of the Ark prior to this issue? Whirl seemed to imply that the Autobots knew of the Ark’s resting place when Spike made his reference to something under the Yukon ice, which opens the question of how – since no one appeared to know who’d stolen the Ark after the Unicron battle at the end of G1, except for those on it, or its destination. And if the Autobots did know it had crashed on Earth, why did they not investigate or do anything about it themselves? Optimus and the Autobots not knowing about the Ark crash and assuming Earth had been purged of all of the Transformers when Primus summoned them to Cybertron, thus not being concerned for what had been happening there for the past 20 years makes most sense, but I’m hard pressed to work out how that tallies with Whirl’s knowledge, unless I missed something vital in an earlier issue of Regeneration.

Leave a Reply

