PART 1! Thought I’d chat in more depth about this amazing Hachette Transformers G1 collection. The first volume (Target: 2006 – the books are released non-sequentially) is out now, in all good newsagents, and you can subscribe to the whole 80-volume set over at Hachette’s website, here:…
So, why should you be air-punching with glee at this new set of hardback GNs? Part of my brief was to make this collection unique, which – given the amount of TF collections already out there in some shape or form – wasn’t automatically a given. There’s the basic things of course – hardback, spine art that builds up into one overall image, superb production values, bumper-sized editions, etc. But what makes it unique among other TF collections? Well, for starters, the collection is sequential, and – for the first time – the Marvel UK/US strip will appear in the order it was published in the original Marvel UK Transformers comic. In other words, the strip will go from UK originated to Marvel US strip in the same volume, giving you the sense of one through story (rather than UK collections or US collections). And then the end of the Marvel era will feed directly into Regeneration One to wrap up TF/MARVEL storyline. Okay, so, that’s reason to be cheerful #1. I’ll post #2 later today!



  1. Thanks for the info. But could you specify exactly WHAT this collection will contain, because the info on the official page is really scant? If it has the Marvel G1 comics run (US and UK) in chronological order, why does it start with Target 2006? And now I see mentions online about this being only the Dreamwave G1 series plus the reprints from Marvel that they already released? Can you shed some more light on this? Thanks!

    • simon furman says:

      The 80-volumne series contains pretty much everything G1, from the very first Marvel story through all the US/UK material (in the knitted together order it was published in the UK comic) to Regeneration One, then through Dreamwave G1 (including War Within. Micromasters etc), into IDW – all the way up to the present day. The volumes are released in non-chronological order, and build into the final 1-80 on your shelf. It’s the way Partworks work. So effectively we go Vol 6 (Target 2006), Vol 36 (Stormbringer), Vol 16 (Primal Scream) and so on.

      • Thanks a bunch for the clarification, Simon! 🙂 Yeah it wasn’t clear to me since it starts with Target 2006.
        I am iffy about subscribing then, considering I already have TPBs of Stormbringer, The War Within, MTMTE and pretty much every comic I need from DW and IDW… I’d only need the Marvel US/UK stuff, since in Hungary we only got about 2/3 of the US G1 released.
        By the way, do you know whether the unreleased Vol 3. of The War Within would be in this collection?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: