TURNING JAPANESE

After years of writing Transformers stories for the UK and US, I’m proud to announce I’ll be notching up my first all-Japanese writing credit, courtesy of Million Publishing, who produce the amazing Transformers: Generations 2009 magazine series. Volume 3 of said publication features an all-new 2-page comic strip story written by me with art by fan favourite Guido Guidi. Interestingly, and with a kind of uncanny synergy, the story idea I initially submitted to Million Publishing employed elements from the two previous manga strips (in Transformers: Generations 2009 #1 & 2), to such an extent we were able to fuse everything together in a way that continues and wraps up that storyline. I hadn’t even seen those strips, let alone understood them, when I first pitched the idea to Million, so it all fitted together oh so very neatly. Transformers: Generations 2009 vol 3 is out later this year. For more information check out the Million Publishing site here. Once it’s out, I’ll provide a file featuring my original script version of the dialogue, thereby negating the need for a reverse translation from the Japanese (translated) text. I’ve a feeling, otherwise, it could get messy!

13 Responses to TURNING JAPANESE

  1. lonegamer says:

    That’s AWESOME! Congrats, Simon! 😀

  2. Dave says:

    What happened to the Transformers: Art of the Movies book? It’s no longer available on amazon and another website said the book got cancelled…say it isn’t so!

  3. stephen says:

    I would like to know what happened to the book as well.

  4. That is excellent news. Look forward to seeing it.

  5. simon furman says:

    Transformers: Art of the Movies book is awaiting various approvals and clearances, and so out of my/Titan’s hands right now. Everyone’s still hoping we can get it out for later this year, not least because it showcases some very fine art indeed, and Ben Procter donated his valuable time to make sure everyone got their due credit, but right now it’s a bit in limbo. As and when we know more, I’ll post news here. Thanks for your patience.

  6. Dave says:

    Glad to hear there’s still a chance…thanks for the info!

  7. tobin says:

    so the movie art book might be out someday maybe?

    not holding my breath.

    i’m disappointed.

  8. simon furman says:

    Well don’t count it out too soon. I’m still optimistic the book will see print and a lot of other people are doing their level best to ease any bumps. Fingers crossed!

  9. Anubis_Necromancer From Brazil says:

    Congratulations Mr. Furman^^
    I’m a fan from Brazil, and I read many of your work along the years.
    And you are the best write for the TF universe.

  10. tobin says:

    ok. will be patient and keep fingers crossed.

    thanks.

  11. Vittorio Trevitt says:

    Amazing news. I wonder if any of the UK and US stories you’ve written over the years have been translated into Japanese?

    By the way Simon, did you know that a “Beast Wars: Transformers” manga came out in Japan several years ago? Maybe if you go to Japan you might be able to check it out!

  12. Bobby says:

    Any news on this, it’s been months and still no word! This really is depressing! Why do they want to hide all the movie designs so much? All we see is the same 4-5 images of the same bots over and over, why not release the book or the designs from the remaining line up online?

  13. Phoenix says:

    I’ve just spoken to the distributor for the book in Australia (Scribo) to see if the book was going to be available on its second release date next week (June 2010) and they advised me that it has been cancelled.

    I’ve been waiting 12 months to see it after the original release date was tentatively postponed to this year (2010), but that hope is dead.

    Unfortunately, to me it doesn’t look like it will ever be released. I’d kill to get my hands on this book!

    Is there anything you can tell us, Simon? It’s such a shame to have this book out of reach.

    Phoenix 🙂

Leave a comment