SCRIPT (W)RAP – AHM CODA

So, I got asked to do a story for IDW’s post-All Hail Megatron series Coda. And a lot of fun I had with it too. Without giving too much away (after all, it’s only 11-pages!), it revolves around the longstanding relationship/friendship between battle-scarred veteran soldier Ironhide and Autobot leader Optimus Prime. In a series of key flashbacks, set within a contemporary framing, we explore the abrasive and often confrontational nature of these two legendary heroes, and how that metamorphosed into mutual trust and respect. Let’s just say that in current affairs Ironhide has reached something of a crossroads in the story, and it sets the scene for some incredibly dramatic stuff to come! The first issue of All Hail Megatron: Coda goes on sale in July. For more details check out the IDW website here.

9 Responses to SCRIPT (W)RAP – AHM CODA

  1. Colin says:

    A focus on the relationship between Prime and Ironhide, my two favourite characters … I am very much looking forward to this one.

    But that “incredibly dramatic stuff” sounds a little ominous … I just hope it’s something ongoing and not another run-in with Megatron’s fusion cannon! After all, McCarthy has set Ironhide up for the fall, and he did promise more casualties. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

    While I’m here, just a couple of things:

    Max Dinos 4 … Outstanding issue, one of IDW’s best so far as far as I’m concerned! The new direction you’ve taken with the Dinobots is very refreshing.

    And finally, thanks your ongoing contribution to TF comics … there are other talented writers out there for sure, but it really would never be the same without your input.

  2. Carlos says:

    This will be the first AHM-related story I’ll like, it seems ¬¬

    I’m SO eager to see more TFs-by-Furman it’s not even funny.

  3. Phil says:

    Looking forward to it. I’m enjoying all of the storyline developments with Transformers so much. The depth you guys add to these characters is amazing, and the world they live in is so much clearer now and only has me asking more questions.

    Maximum Dinobots #4 was excellent by the way. I never thought I could see the Dinobots characters as “tragic” in any way before I read this story! Definitely has me wondering what kind of relationship Grimlock has with Optimus.

  4. Bass X0 says:

    I still need to get Maximum Dinobots #4

  5. Black Bumblebee says:

    I know that Shane has gotten a lot of bad flak from the TF community about AHM, for taking TFs in a “different” direction, but I have to admit that I’ve enjoyed the change of pace: the smaller cast, the more recognizable characters, the deeper look into personality, and how events shape what happens to character…

    That said, I also think that you tend to get the most creative when you have to make your own ideas fit into someone else’s sandbox, such as back in the days of Marvel UK. So I’m quite sure that the Coda piece will be very entertaining and I look forward to it.

  6. Charles RB says:

    We’ve been seeing deeper look into personalities (mainly via Spotlights) and events shaping characters since IDW started. A key example would be Megatron, who starts as this cool, clinical person with careful protocols and structures away, and willingly _throws this away_ and begins devolving once Ore-13 gives him the opportunity to brawl & he gets humiliated after.

  7. David says:

    I was wondering if you had any plans to bring Rodimus Prime into the IDW universe?

  8. Danforth says:

    Hugely pleased to see that you’re still involved with the IDW/TF-verse. Long may that continue! Maybe you’ll get to play with some of the stuff that didn’t make the cut during your ~ation reign. (No way could Galvatron be defeated by the mere destruction of his adopted home universe and being thrown into a miniature sun!)

  9. zartan says:

    did thundercracker get his head blown off in issue 12?

Leave a comment