HE’S BACK, YES?

The original Death’s Head is back — in a special story that pits him against none other than the Incredible Hulk! Issue #33 of Panini UK‘s Marvel Heroes comic features an amazing two-part clash between everyone’s favourite bounty hunter (um, freelance peacekeeping agent) and the jade giant. Part one is written by Ferg Handley and part two (the real head-to-head, as it were) by me, with art by the amazing Simon Williams. Marvel Heroes #33 is out (in the UK) on the 24th of March. Amazingly, this marks my first work on the original Death’s Head since the early 90s, when he guest-starred in the likes of She-Hulk, Marvel Comics Presents and Death’s Head. Don’t miss this special event and reserve your copy now!

21 Responses to HE’S BACK, YES?

  1. BB Shockwave says:

    Excellent news, yes?

  2. ZacWilliam says:

    Great news! The original Deaths Head was always the best. DH2 looked cool when drawn by Liam, but the original just had so much fun personality compaired to the others, he wins hands downs. Now if only there was an easy way for us in the US to import this. I’d totally buy anything he’s in to support the character.

  3. Best First says:

    Next strike in the neural cluster, yes? Weakest spot on all Hulks…

  4. Jim Sorenson says:

    Excellent news! Death’s Head remains a favorite of mine after all these years. I read through the two Death’s Head paperbacks that came out recently and they really hold up. Looking forward to this one, yes!

  5. Jon Steele says:

    Great stuff! Shame his “return” isn’t in a bit more of a main stream Marvel title, especially after his appearance in S.W.O.R.D., but beggars can’t be choosers. Still wish there was a Death’s Head toy though!

  6. This one is a dream come true for me for a few reasons: I always wanted to see a battle between the Incredible Hulk and the original Death’s Head (I’ll never forget how excited I was when Death’s Head first encountered the Fantastic Four in DH#9)… but never believed for a second that I’d one day be drawing it, AND it being the characters grand return! And also, to get to work with Simon.. who is a long-time favourite writer of mine. Honestly it doesn’t get any better than this for me :o)

    Congratulations Simon on the return of the original, one and only Freelance Peacekeeping Agent!!

  7. 0r1n says:

    Is Awesome, Yes.

  8. Chris McAree says:

    Excellent news. Are both parts of the two-parter in #33?

  9. simon furman says:

    Yep. Both parts in one issue. Bargain!

    –Simon

  10. Chris McAree says:

    On order as of right now. And thank you, I’m now in my fourth decade of reading comics and good old DH still holds a very special place in my heart.

    I always wondered though, why was the decision made to change him from his original Green-body to the post Dragon’s Claw’s #5 Blue/Yellow-body. I always thought the first was such a classic design.

  11. simon furman says:

    I agree about the original design. It was always my favourite. But Bryan Hitch had some strong ideas about the look of the character when he and I started up the ongoing and I always want the artist to have input. So, as long as the essential qualities of the DH look aren’t lost, I’m OK with some updating now and then.

  12. Andy Bray says:

    This is best news i’ve heard for a long time!!
    I enjoyed seeing DH in S.W.O.R.D, but its not the same as seeing him do what he does best! His initial 10 run of his own Series was magical. Traveling through time, meeting random Marvel Characters. Interweaving throughout the Marvel universe!
    This character has gone through numerous changes/reboots and still keeps coming back! Its All about Deaths Head (1)! I only really read the sequels out of faith for the original character. And whilst the 4 issue mini DH 2 was interesting it was never as fun.
    This is a character with such History (Going Toe-to-Toe with the top Transformer A-List, Timelords, Fan 4, Dragons Claws as well as his own list of characters) and such a hugely loyal fan-base I just cannot understand what with all the money pumped into comics and titles that barely make any dent in the industry Why DH cant get more kudos or exposure!? There are thousands more stories to tell, different worlds, different timezones, imagine DH in an “I am legend” Zombie holocaust – negoiating with surviours about a fair price to help them! lol
    He’s in my top 5 of all time, and i’m sure others feel the same. (Sorry, I dont mean to rant – Im just hugely passionate about DH – always have been ever since he was staring at that 10,000 Shanix reward poster, Ive even got DH 1 Tattooed!!)
    Cant wait to read the new material Simon. Thanks for basically getting me into comics, via Transformers and Action Force (and obviously Deaths Head).
    Good luck to you both with bringing him back. 🙂

  13. Chris McAree says:

    Sorry to ask a stupid question, but my comic-shop only deals through Diamond, who don’t list Marvel Heroes #33 at all. Where is it available from?

  14. simon furman says:

    Panini UK sell through the newstrade, so your average corner newsagents or WH Smith should stock this. A newsagent will be able to order a copy. That said, I imagine Forbidden Planet stocks this too.

  15. Ralph Burns says:

    I look forward to stalking the racks of ASDA on the hunt for this mighty read when the time comes.

  16. Kev says:

    Hi Simon
    What fantastic news this is. I am going to buy this for sure. If only we had more DH on the horizon. Do you know of anything?
    Just for curiousity – I have a group dedicated to the original DH going on Yahoo groups. It’s a personal labour of love and still in it’s infancy but it’s there all the same.
    I am uploading a run down of his appearances (that I know of) to date and over time will become more complete, and opions are my own views on the books. But I am doing my bit to keep the memory alive.

  17. Simon Hall says:

    I’m looking forward to this very much. Particularly having enjoyed Simon Williams’ own DH vs Hulk ’bout in his own fan produced comic from a couple of years back.

    I’ve got to say, I’m not much of a fan of the green body warmer look, i much prefered Bryan Hitch’s new set of clothes for the ongoing. Well, that and Geoff Senior’s awesome redesign for that amusing issue of What If (a design i recall seeing rendered in blue in the back of The Life & Times Of Death’s Head).

    Good stuff!

  18. Pat Collum says:

    He’s mainly a cult character but given how many major threads he transcends and given the fact he’s got more charm in the connector point on the multi arm than a lot of other characters put together a come back has been much overdue… surely Marvel could use him against some other characters>?!

  19. Kev says:

    Rather than just use him as a DH vs…. character, I feel he would be put to good use in his own stories again. Being just a guest slot character is not a good rut to be stuck in.

Leave a comment