FUTURE’S PAST

Just a reminder that this week (Wednesday 27th in the US, Thursday 28th here in the UK) sees the release of Transformers Spotlight: Galvatron, written by me and drawn by Guido Guidi (oh, and published by IDW). Different this one, largely because instead simply re-presenting a character with a distinctive IDW-verse twist, this is a complete reinvention of the ‘classic’ G1 character. Originally, Galvatron (as all fans of the original animated movie know) was the future version of Megatron, recreated by Unicron from the shattered remains of the former Decepticon leader. However, this Galvatron is NOT IDW Megatron in a new body. In fact, he pre-dates IDW Megatron (currently strutting his formative stuff in the excellent Megatron: Origin series) by some way. It’s all connected to the mystery of the first Ark (as mentioned in Spotlight: Nightbeat) and its crew. How? Well, you’ll have to check out the issue to find (some of, anyway) the answers. Oh, and for those who like to know where this issue fits into the grand scheme of things, it sits between the end of Escalation and the beginning of Devastation. Essential reading if you want the whole big picture. Click on the cover thumbnail below to see Guido’s reimagined Galvatron and check out the IDW site here for more information on all current and upcoming releases.
cover.jpg

12 Responses to FUTURE’S PAST

  1. partholon says:

    nice one. bit of confusion on the IDW boards on whether this would be out this week or not but EVERYONEs dying to see it.
    i love what guidos done with galvys design. he keeps the general esthetic but its got a lovely vicious look to it. ive no problem admiting that this is the spotlight ive been most looking forward to since sixshot as its a total reinterpretation of the character and im really interested to see what his story is. heck even if his basic characteristics are. as a writer you can have alot of fun teasing us with things where we think he’ll do one thing and then does another because we really dont know this guy. between these spotlights and the megatron mini im well set till devestation in sept.

    meant to ask what do you think of erics work? i was really impressed with his first issue ( kept thinking of thatcher and the miners though for some reason🙂 ) and his handling of the characters and settings has a nice feel to it. in fact it even got my brother to pick it up and read it and he hasnt done that in years. i really think eric and alex make a good team and it’ll be interesting to see how this megatron becomes the hard ass youve shown us in infiltration/escalation.

  2. Thunderwing says:

    Agh! I guess it got delayed.

    Still, the anticipation is high on this one.

  3. partholon says:

    damn. this aint going to be out till next week. chris ryall was just on his IDW site and diamond screwed it up so it not gonna hit till next week along with new avengers/ transformers 1. he said to spread the word.
    damn it was looking forward to this😦

  4. bassbot says:

    yeah next week! but i guess that’s another week to spread the word!

  5. simon furman says:

    Damn. I’m kind of waiting too… to hear what you guys think about the ‘new’ (old) Galvatron.

  6. simon furman says:

    Eric’s done a great job on Megatron: Origin. I like that it plays around (big time) with the presupposed status quo on Cybertron.

  7. Even though it’s only by a few days, there is a advance review by myself of Galvatron over at http://www.fractalmatter.com.

    Needless to say, I am impressed.

  8. simon furman says:

    Great review. Thanks, James.

  9. Black Bumblebee says:

    Hmm… don’t want to give any spoilers… but I enjoyed it🙂 Nice to see that Galvatron is still a “rebel.”

  10. WHAT?!? No online review by Simon Cybertron Furman?

    Personally I preferred THE MOVIE, but my boys really loved it. I did get a kick out of the fact that, when I bought tickets out in Palm Desert — where we were having a short, HOT (115 dgreees) holiday — the cashier handed me a free comic written by The Master hisself, and illustrated by Andy. In my very best burst balloon of logo-style proportions, I shook my fist at the skies, screaming, “CURSE YOU, FURMAN! Is there no place on Earth I can hide?!!”

    Bumblebee stole the show though, didn’t he? Him and John Turturro.

    Rich!

  11. simon furman says:

    There is no hiding place, Starkings. In fact, I plan to hunt you down at the San Diego comicon in just a few weeks’ time.🙂

    My review of the movie’s in Comics International #203. Out this month. Bumblebee did indeed steal the show (and pretty much without dialogue).

  12. Simon, I’m in my usual spot, 2106 I think, in the Indy Press Pavilion (red carpet area near DC’s booth) and I’m staying at the Hyatt. I’ll be there Tuesday through Sunday, if you’re early give me a buzz (I’ll send you my cell number shortly!).

    R!

Leave a Reply

