FREE COMIC BOOK DAY IS TOMORROW!

Yep, tomorrow May 5th, is Free Comic Book Day, when publishers dole out free comics to shops to pass on to their loyal customers. And one of those free comics is Transformers: Regeneration One #80.5, the continuation of the original Marvel Transformers series (which ended back in 1991). This all-new 16-page story bridges the 21-year gap (in actual as well as story terms) between issue #80 and #81, and serves both as a catch up (for new and old readers alike) and a launch pad for the new story. It’s a perfect ‘jumping on point’, as they like to say in the biz, and what’s more — it’s free! Or did I already mention that? To celebrate FCBD and the release of #80.5, I’ll be signing at Orbital Comics in London tomorrow along with artist Andrew Wildman, inker Stephen Baskerville, interior colourist John-Paul Bove and cover colourist Jason Cardy, from 12 noon to 2PM. This is your chance to get your free (oops, I mentioned it again) issue #80.5 signed by the whole team! Hope to see you there!

UPDATE – forgot to mention that I’ll have a limited number of my signed original [facsimile] scripts with me at Orbital tomorrow. The usual roster of the unpublished Transformers: War Within – Age of Wrath #4 & 5 (plus bonus outline of #6), unpublished [Dreamwave] Beast Wars #1 & Transformers #80 (Marvel, 1991).

7 Responses to FREE COMIC BOOK DAY IS TOMORROW!

  1. Kai Wong says:

    Really looking forward to tomorrow, I’ve been a big fan of Transformers since the start and your work has been a big part of my life from childhood to adulthood.

  2. I can’t wait to read the issue ,been waiting 21 years for this one .

  3. Peter Hodgson says:

    I’ll get all of you to sign my copy at AA2012 in August. Hope you all have a great time ! Should have my copy in the post next week. Can’t wait to read every issue #81-100.

  4. I just read the issue ,and it is AWESOME !! .

  5. Frobman says:

    I had picked my copy and like to say I’ve enjoyed it so far. Especially your jab at Furmanisms, Hehehe!

    I look forward to your future issues, while at the same time picking up your classics. Keep up the good work!

  6. Alex says:

    I have just got my copy of Rengeneration One 80.5 through the post this morning (I had to get one form ebay, as I no longer have a local comic store!). I am so excited. I found out about Regen One ironically, as I was in the middle of reading my old (UK) G1 comics for the first time in knocking on for twenty years or so, and simply could not believe the co-incidence! I have been badgering my comic supplier to put Regen One on my subscription… I don’t think I’ve ever been so hyped about a series, not even when the first revivial series was released; the Marvel series always was the “primary” and best Transformers continutity.

    I just wanted to say a *huge* thank you to you and all the Regen One team for doing this!

    (Also, I know you aren’t fond of the Enemy Within, but I have to say it always has a special place in my heart, since that was the first Transformers story I ever read. (Though I didn’t get the comic regularly until #35.) Though my favourite of all Transformers stories probably has to be the Earthforce ones, and Once Upon a Time.. in particular, becuase it still reduces me to hysterics!)

    I think this is the first time I’ve “written” to anyone in Transformers since Soundwave ran the letters page…!

    [Spoilers for 80.5]

    I had to pause, wondering why Prime would mentor Hot Rod, when Grimlock was his former choice… And then I realised that, given how in the original timeline, Rodimus was a *terrible* leader (really, he *was!*), Prime’s probaly hedging his bets so that if he snuffs it, Rodimus won’t *totally* screw it all up..!)

    The only thing I didn’t recognise was the blond chap with the shoulder pad on the first page next to my favourite Auto-, sorry, *Dino*bot, Grimlock. (Him Grimlock *King!*) Can anybody enlighten me?

    • I have been wondering the same about the blond guy ,I have heard that it might be Spike (even though that would not make sense ) , Circuit Breaker’s son ,cause of a name that Simon said somewhere ,called Circuit Smasher .Who really knows (well we all know who knows ,but he ain’t talking ) ,I guess we have to wait till July .

Leave a Reply

